What are you going to do with your life?

If there is a harder question to answer, I don’t know what it is.  I have friends that have always known they wanted to be doctors, lawyers, and movie makers; and I often envy them.  How much easier is it to find your way, when you have a clear destination in mind?  It must feel great to only have to go to college, do well, get into medical school, do well, do a million hours of residency, and then be a doctor.  And it has to be somewhat settling when you discover that’s your path when you are 13 or 14 years old.  

But what about the rest of us?

What happens when you take a job and then another job and another?  

And then you look around and you are 30 or 40 or 50 and still just doing a job.  

And there is honor in all work.  It is so impressive the types of things that people do to support their families.  But at 50 should you really be trying to figure out what you want to be when you are grown up?

This is the part where I am supposed to tell some great story about how I was lost and now have this amazing career and everything is perfect professionally.  And maybe one day I will, but that’s just not the case.  

I am you.  

I am the hard working customer service agent that wants to be a writer.

I am the law enforcement officer that really would love to own a restaurant.

I am the sales person that really doesn’t know what she wants to do, but is sure that selling cellphones or copiers is not it.

I am the person that stayed at their job for 25 years and then they closed the doors and I have to start over. 

I am every one of those wild dreams you had when you were 12 but never thought they could come true.  

It is a lot easier to have dreams than to chase them.  And my point is not that everyone pick up today, forget your responsibilities, and become a trail guide; but I do think its important to take a look inside and see if you can answer the question.  And to test yourself even further, look back in your life and see if you are where you were supposed to be.  

We are all DOING something with our lives.  And most people are trying to do well.  We work hard, spend time with family, search for inner peace, and generally try to be good people.  A lot of these actions are passive.  You just do them because you always have.  They are very important to you and your existence but they are not DO’s.  

Do is an action word.  

Life is about action.

So what are you doing?  Who are you doing it with?  What would you like to be doing?  Where are you doing it?  Does doing it make you proud and happy?  Do you want to be doing something else?  

There are so many amazing people in this world with talent that is only limited by their own minds.  Before you limit yourself to doing the job that you have always done, isn’t it worth looking at what you could DO if you simply decided to try and DO it.  

 

SK

9 thoughts on “What are you going to do with your life?”

  1. Stop yelling at me, I’m working on it! 🙂
    I joined a critique group and I am getting some $$ together to take a writing class at the GA Center this summer.
    I am lucky (in a way) though. I don’t have any children so other’s wants/needs don’t factor into my future earning potential (my husband can feed himself!). I could pack up tomorrow and become a trail guide if I really wanted. Those with children have a whole other level of responsibility to worry about.
    Fear is the only thing holding me down at the moment and its grip is slowly weakening.

    1. I am not yelling at you! I am writing it all out for me so I can see my own crap in black and white.

      Yes there are different issues with chasing a dream that happen when you have kids but it doesn’t mean you can’t start heading in that direction.

      We are limited by our limits. At our 20 year reunion, won’t it be a cool story that you finally decided to try and look what happened?

      SK

  2. Stevie,

    This was really cool. I am struggling with this issue right now after being laid off. I have so many interest but not sure which ones to follow. Should I have kids? Go into sales? Go to culinary school? I can tell you one thing I am sick of worrying about what to do….in the words of Nike I need to Just Do It!

    1. Sorry for the lay off Misty! I was, and in many cases still am, in your boat after loosing my job in January. It was a mild blessing because I really didn’t like the job, but the check was nice to count on. As I have gone through this whole speech contest thing I am finding something that I’m not only pretty good at but could actually be a career (still a long way to go, but there is light).

      One of the visuals that I have done before but I continue to go back to is writing out my perfect day. Really stretching my imagination as well as being very specific. If kids are in that day, well that tells you a lot. If you are out selling some amazing product, voila. If you haven’t read my post called two questions, its also related to this particular topic.

      Much love old friend!

  3. Stevie

    I have much of the past 49 years doing that. Fortunately after several tries with passions and professions I found one I have stayed with for 25 years.

    Read motivational books in the 60s and 70s.

    Took my life in my own hands a variety times then walked away and went in another direction.

    Always provided for my family one way or another while I searched and searched.

    Two books I recommend

    BREAKTIME!

    Breaktime: Living (Paperback)
    by Bernard Lefkowitz
    you can find it on Amazon for as low as .01 plus shipping
    or at your local library or through Library Loan at your library.

    The ELEMENT
    by Ken Robinson
    a new book
    it can also be bought through web book sites at a discount or used prices.

    Both talk about the same problem

    Breaktime focuses on stories of people who went to college, got their degrees, licenses did their internships then found that they disliked or hated what they were doing and moved on to find much happier lives.

    The Element is about people who once they found their PASSION found work and much more happiness.

    Best wishes,

    Alan

  4. Stevie,

    Where will you be preforming your regional presentation. Unfortunately, I cannot come to Regional on the 27th, but would love to see what you have planned. Bring home the trophy, the BIG one.

    Ingrid Richburg
    District 14 Toastmasters

  5. Stevie,

    I am working a speech for Int’ toastmaster contest. Could I get some feed back from you. Could I have your email address?

Leave a Reply

