Challenge 1: Move, Maintain, Music

So here I go on Carlos’ fit by Fourth journey.  Funding severely put a kink in my Crossfit workouts, so I’ve been taking what I learned and trying to stay active this last few weeks while my bank account becomes more accepting of my physical needs (probably for the best as well, I know I was on the line of pushing too far and hurting myself).

To start the journey it was a simple 3 day, 3 step challenge:

Move

The challenge here was to simply move more than you normally would and to not do anything that you really don’t like to do as part one and then to complete a fitness challenge in part two.  With it being a weekend baseball tournament, I usually sit in my chair and just watch my son play, but I made a point to walk…a lot…constantly.  I  don’t have a clue how long or how far, but I know I did a lot more activity this weekend than any other tournament weekend all fall.

40 air squats

30 sit ups

20 push ups

10 burpees

Lots of heavy breathing and tight muscles
image

Time: 6 minutes and 24 seconds.

This will be our baseline workout to measure our progress.  I’d love to get a minute off this time over this seven weeks.

 

Maintain

This part of the challenge was simple.  Maintain your diet.  I’ve always believed that it is way too hard to try to change multiple things about your life at the same time, so I’m very pro not going salad only.  The challenge, though, was to record what I ate for the weekend.

  • Friday
    • Egg & cheese sandwich
    • Chicken burrito with Rice
    • Ham & turkey sandwich and chips
  • Saturday (Isnacked on chips  andpowerade a lot this day being at the park)
    • Breakfast scramble (biscuit, gravy, peppers, cheese)
    • Hot dog, chips, soda
    • Cheeseburger and fries from the grill
  • Sunday
    • Sausage burrito from McDonald’s and a giant soda
    • Chicken nuggets
    • Bacon cheeseburger and fries from Wendy’s

I realize the biggest room for weight loss and health improvement is my diet.  I’m looking forward to hearing what Los has to say about the diet portion.

 

Music

Carlos is a worship leader, and a very good one.  Step three was to come up with a song or two or three or three million that is your all time go to jam for getting pumped up.  I as well love music and studied it in college.  Just picking one song is about impossible, but this one has gotten me over several humps throughout the years.

 

 

Challenge one COMPLETE!

On to round  two.

 

Ciao

 

SK

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

