Maybe I’ll be as fast as you

I sat and came up with a list a mile long of things I want to accomplish the rest of the year, most of them are pretty boring.  I have a a super high competitive drive and one of my goals for this next few weeks was born out of that gene.

 

I wouldn’t say I was inspired, but I was intrigued

I wouldn’t say I was scared, but I was concerned

I wouldn’t say I was motivated, but I was touched

 

Do yourself a favor and watch FSND.  It chronicles the journey of Joe Cross for 60 days of juicing, what it does to his body, and what it does to the people around him.  My coworker has been trying to get me to watch this for a year.  I finally carved out 90 minutes to check it out and was totally drawn in, yet I wasn’t ready to leave McDonald’s and Pizza Hut behind…but it did make me think.

Our office is more like a family of brothers and sisters that bicker, laugh, cry, and truly share our lives together.  A couple of days after I viewed the movie we were discussing juicing as my coworker was consuming some kind of concoction that appeared to be burnt orange and smelled like a farmer’s market.  Out of nowhere our secretary says that she’ll do a juice fast, but she didn’t think that I would be able to stick to it.

Challenge

She might as well have double-dog-dared me to put my tongue on the pole.  So with that, I agreed.

So here we go.  Starting tomorrow we are doing a 10 day juice fast.  I’ve read and researched and prepared my mind as much as possible to take this 240 hours on as best I can.  For me this process is more mental than physical.  I’ve always been a picky eater and some of my motivation is to test my palate and hopefully inspire my equally picky 11-year-old to step outside of chicken nuggets on occasion.  The more I read though, I am seeing how this can truly be a life changing event.  My friend at work has promised this will be one of the top 10 best decisions of my life.  I think that may be hyperbole (but sounds like a great idea for a blog post), but who knows where I’ll be by next weekend.

One of the things that’s recommended is to journal this process.  So that’s what I’m going to do, I’m just gonna put it out there for everyone to consume (at least most of it).

I don’t know what will happen, but I’m sure something will happen…hopefully it will be entertaining ;).

Leave a Reply

